What Is the FER?

The Festival d’Expression de la Rue is a platform for Montreal’s at-risk youth to express themselves. However, it acts as more than a simple platform; the FER’s organization seeks to set forth an approach to STBBIs prevention and to fighting prejudice and exclusion that is fully inclusive and respectful of all individuals.

During the FER, at-risk youth build a space dedicated to the creation and expression of street culture. They establish themselves as a community and affirm the social rights of marginalized people. The FER promotes the idea of positive marginality, engaged and rooted in community. By drawing interest from outside the street community, the FER also provides a meeting space for people from all walks of life and therefore participates in a more harmonious social cohabitation in Montreal’s downtown.

The FER, which has been organized by peer helpers since 1997, is an initiative that is undertaken entirely by, for, and with at-risk street youths. The festival’s programming is wholly dedicated to street culture, originality and diversity. The division of the FER’s programming into different themed days allows street youths from all artistic backgrounds to showcase their talents onstage, a stage which, it is worth mentioning, is rarely available to them otherwise.

As an initiative that seeks to promote health, the FER also acts as a showcase for community organizations working with at-risk youths. Workers at community organizations coordinate many activities and kiosks each year. Activities offered are directly related to health and a special place is accorded to STBBI prevention. The presence of different organizations on the festival site allow youth to discover new resources. In addition to the presence of these organizations, the peer helpers themselves organize STBBI prevention activities, often in the form of games. Other workshops teach, for example, leatherworking or bike repair, allowing youth to develop new interests or skills, offering them an alternative to drug use and contributing to the development of self-esteem and autonomy.

Over the years, the FER has become a genuine tradition in the street community. Each edition mobilizes approximately 1,500 people around issues such as health, citizenship and social coexistence. Although organizing the festival is complicated and at times exhausting for the GIAP team, the enthusiasm it generates and its positive impacts on the community make it an indispensable yearly event!

« 1 of 3 »

 

Thanks to our financial partners this year:

Sans titre-1

FER 2015: Back to the future

FER Affiche 2015

.

View / download bands’ poster

View / download press release

View / download talents search flyer

View / download discussion citoyenne ad

.

PHOTOS OF THE 2015 EDITION

FER 2014: 18 ans de revendications

FER 2014 Affiche

.

.

View / download 2014 report

View / download press release

View / download discussion citoyenne ad

 .

PHOTOS OF THE 2014 EDITION

« 1 of 2 »

FER 2013: Arme d’expression massive

FER 2013 affiche

.

 

View / download FER 2013 report

View / download 2013 press release

View / download Café Citoyen invitation

 .

2013 EDITION’S PHOTOS

« 1 of 3 »

FER 2012: Festival d’Expression de MA Rue

Affiche Fer 2012

.

.

View / download 2012 report

View / download the 2012 press release

.

2012 EDITION’S PHOTOS

Scroll Up

Le FER, c’est quoi?

Le Festival d’Expression de la Rue est une plate-forme d’expression pour les jeunes en situation de précarité de Montréal.  Mais plus qu’une simple plate-forme, l’organisation du FER vise à mettre en branle une démarche de prévention des ITSS et de lutte aux préjugés et à l’exclusion, qui soit pleinement inclusive et respectueuse de tous et chacun.

Pendant le FER, les jeunes en situation de précarité investissent un lieu dédié à la création, à l’expression de la culture de la rue et aux échanges; ils se constituent en communauté et revendiquent le droit de cité pour les personnes marginalisées. Le FER fait la promotion d’une marginalité positive, engagée et ancrée dans la communauté. Suscitant l’intérêt à l’extérieur du monde la rue, le FER offre aussi un espace de rencontres pour des personnes de divers horizons et participe ainsi à une cohabitation sociale plus harmonieuse au centre-ville.

Organisé par les pairs-aidants depuis 1997, le FER est entièrement une initiative par, pour et avec les jeunes en situation de précarité et qui fréquentent le milieu de la rue. La programmation du Festival est entièrement dédiée à la culture de la rue, originale et diversifiée. La division du FER en journées thématiques permet aux jeunes du milieu, de tous horizons artistiques, de faire valoir leurs talents sur scène; scène qui rappelons-le, leur est rarement accessible autrement.

S’inscrivant dans une démarche de promotion de la santé, le FER offre aussi une vitrine aux organismes communautaires travaillant auprès des jeunes en situation de précarité. Plusieurs activités et kiosques sont en effet organisés chaque année par les intervenants des ressources communautaires. Les activités qui y sont offertes sont directement reliées à la santé et une place particulière est accordée à la prévention des ITSS. Cette présence accrue des ressources sur le site du FER permet aux jeunes présents d’apprivoiser des ressources qui leur sont parfois inconnues. En plus des organismes présents, les pairs-aidants eux-mêmes y organisent des activités de prévention des ITSS, le plus souvent sous forme de jeux. D’autres ateliers, visant par exemple le travail du cuire ou la réparation de vélo permettent aux jeunes de développer de nouveaux intérêts et compétences, leur offrant aussi par là une alternative à la consommation et contribuant au développement de leur estime personnelle et de leur autonomie.

Au fil des ans, le FER est devenu une véritable tradition dans le monde de la rue. Chaque édition permet de mobiliser environ 1 500 personnes autours des enjeux de santé, de citoyenneté, et de cohabitation sociale. Bien que l’organisation du FER soit complexe et par moment essoufflante pour l’équipe du GIAP, l’engouement qu’il suscite et les retombées positives de l’événement sur la communauté en font un événement annuel incontournable!

FER 2016: Sortir du cadre

Affiche FER final 2016

.

Voir / télécharger l’affiche de programmation

Voir / télécharger l’affiche de la discussion citoyenne

Voir / télécharger l’affiche de recherche de talents

Voir / télécharger le communiqué de presse

.

PHOTOS DE L’ÉDITION 2016

« 1 de 3 »

Thanks to our financial partners this year:

Sans titre-1

Partenaires financiers

FER 2015: RETOUR VERS LE FUTUR

FER Affiche 2015

.

View / download bands’ poster

View / download press release

View / download talents search flyer

View / download discussion citoyenne ad

.

PHOTOS DE L’ÉDITION 2015

FER 2014: 18 ans de revendications

FER 2014 Affiche

.

.

View / download 2014 report

View / download press release

View / download discussion citoyenne ad

 .

PHOTOS OF THE 2014 EDITION

« 1 de 2 »

FER 2013: Arme d’expression massive

FER 2013 affiche

.

View / download FER 2013 report

View / download 2013 press release

View / download Café Citoyen invitation

.

2013 EDITION’S PHOTOS

« 1 de 3 »

FER 2012: Festival d’Expression de MA Rue

Affiche Fer 2012

.

View / download 2012 report

View / download the 2012 press release

.

2012 EDITION’S PHOTOS

 

×