In order to achieve our goals in HIV, HCV and STBBI prevention and in reducing the risks associated with drug use and street lifestyle, we must continually adapt the activities we offer. Far from working in isolation, the peer helpers’ regular presence in partner organizations and the exchanges they have with youth as well as other workers in the field allow them to keep pace in their domain. This presence on the field also ensures that work done in teams with peer helpers is then redirected towards partner organizations, who not only benefit from it, but also contribute to it.

Here, we explain the principle poles around which the GIAP’s activities are structured. These activities, however, are not fixed. They change over time, based on the evolution of the domain, the emergence of new trends and the development of knowledge with regards to prevention, harm reduction and social cohabitation.

Individual or Small Group Intervention

In their work with partner organizations, peer helpers meet youth with whom they build trust-based relationships. Peer helpers aim to foster self-care and the taking of charge of one’s overall health among the youth with whom they work. To this end, they employ active listening and support the actions taken by youth themselves. The issues that are most often raised in individual intervention concern harm reduction, management of drug use, interpersonal relationships, sexuality, dealing with one’s emotions and autonomy. The wide range of issues tackled by youth illustrates the comprehensive alternative intervention approach that characterizes the peer helpers’ action plan. Peer helpers can also refer and accompany youths to other services as needed. Peer helpers find informal moments to provide information related to STBBIs and to promote a message of health through harm reduction. In individual interventions, peer helpers may use the numerous original and alternative prevention tools developed as a team.

Group Intervention

Peer helpers also offer group intervention with various objectives, from STBBI prevention to the demystification of life on the street, through developing organizational skills among youths. Group interventions are most often centred on recreational activities or awareness-raising workshops. Whether they are offered with our partner organizations, in high schools or at the Festival d’Expression de la Rue, the various activities peer helpers organize help them to meet their objectives.

The peer helpers here at GIAP would be pleased to meet you, and to offer the animation of fun-filled, educational activities in your space! Our innovative workshops strive to reach youth in precarious life situations. Depending on the target audience, certain charges may apply. If you are interested in having us animate an activity, please visit our Animations section!

 

Quiz on STI`s or Prevention Twister

twister-784x800

This activity, conceived with specifically for youth, can be delivered to any number of audiences interested in learning more about sexually transmitted and blood born infections. This activity aims to increased awareness on various STI’s, how they are transmitted, as well as means to protect yourself. The quiz can be animated on its own, or with the support of the Twister game to make it more dynamic. The length of the activity may be tailored to fit your specific needs.

  • 2h of animation: 150$
  • Each extra hour: 55$

 Button making workshop

Atelier de macarons

This workshop is geared to at-risk youth. The goal is to acquire new skills while at the same time tapping into their intuitive creativity. This activity may be easily adapted to fit a particular theme, whether it be the fight against homophobia or racism, or addiction prevention.  Through button making, sensitive subjects like sexuality and the prevention of STI’s may be approached in a comfortable and non-intrusive way. This activity has a minimum length of one hour; however its format may be adapted to fit your needs

  • 1h of animation: 55$
  • 2h of animation: 75$

Parcours-Party (Party Road)

Parcours Party

 

This activity is aimed towards youth, and recreates a typical night of partying. It allows participants to acquire knowledge on drugs based on their own experiences of use.  Fake drugs are placed on a table, and the participants are asked a series of questions related to the effects of the drug, , which mixes are to be avoided, and the length of its effect.  The activity also includes a quiz on the different kinds of condoms available, and how to use them properly. This allows participants to learn and be informed about safer sex practices. With an approximate duration of an hour and a half, the activity can be adapted to your needs.

  • 2h of animation: 150$
  • Each extra hour: 55$

Cooking Workshops

This workshop is geared to at-risk youth.

The goal of the workshop is to build new cooking skills, as a means of empowering youth by improving their autonomy and self-sufficiency. With the help of donations from local food banks, the peer helpers, along with the participants, cook up a storm of healthy and affordable meals, that can be easily recreated following the workshop This workshop also conveys the importance of hygiene when dealing with food. After the meal has been prepared, everyone sits down and enjoys the fruits of their labour, to discuss about what they have learned, and to exchange on a variety of subjects related to health. This workshop lasts a total of three and a half hours, and has a maximum of 8 participants. In order to host this workshop at your organization, we ask that you have a cooking area big enough for ten people, as well as a few basic cooking tools. Donations from a food bank are also required.

  • 145$ If all the commodities for the activity are provided by you.
  • 180$ All commodities will be taken care of by the Peer Helpers team.

The SEXpression Workshop

presentation

This workshop is geared to at-risk youth. This discussion-based allows participants to explore sexuality and STI prevention, through a lens of respect for oneself and one’s partners. The workshop is designed for a small group of 5-6 individuals. Some big picture questions are brought up by the peer helpers, including “What does respect mean to you in sexuality?” “Are there certain things related to sex that you just can’t talk about?”. The content of the workshop can vary from one group to another depending on what participants wish to discuss. This workshop lasts approximately 75 minutes, depending on the group.

  • 90$ for the first workshop.
  • 60$ for every one that follows.

Training: “Demystifying the Realities of the street-involved youth”

This training is designed for individuals and professionals who are mandated to intervene with youth that are facing precarious life situations, mainly health care professionals, police officers, firefighters, etc. Drawing from the life experiences of the peer helpers, this interactive training focuses on the risk factors and the realities in which street involved youth find themselves and attempts to demystify them. This presentation helps to promote understanding about the realities of street-involved youth among participants in order to inform more successful interventions. This training lasts two hours, but it’s format can be adjusted to your needs.

Cost: 150$

Training: “Drugs and the Street: Harm reduction as an alternative approach”

This training is aimed towards professionals who intervene with individuals who use drugs and who are street involved. Based on the experiential knowledge of the peer helpers, this training allows participants to familiarise themselves with current trends in the use of psychoactive substances, to the way of life in the street, as well as to harm reduction as an approach. More specifically, this training discusses the main substances that are most popular in Montreal, the impacts that drug use may have on behaviour, of the mixing of recreational and prescription drugs and the associated risks, withdrawal and relapse prevention. This training is two hours, and allows for a good deal of discussion and interaction among participants.

Cost: 150$

 

 

Community Involvement

Community involvement is another field of action of the GIAP. In order to play an active role in understanding the evolution of the street environment and determining the best approaches to responding to needs of the domain, the GIAP is involved in many community activities and dialogues. The GIAP team is represented at the Table de concertation Jeunesse-Itinérance, which brings together organizations working with at-risk youth. The team is also present at the Table de concertation du Faubourg Saint-Laurent, which brings together various participants to promote communication and dialogue about community security issues. The GIAP also mobilizes around the issue of the criminalization of the homeless, and is an active participant in l’Opération Droits Devants’ activities. The group also takes part in the Nuit des sans-abri de Montréal in order to raise public awareness about the realities of homelessness. As a part of the Festival d’Expression de la Rue, the GIAP organizes an annual citizens’ forum, which brings together various players in Montreal’s downtown community around the theme of social cohabitation. The GIAP’s peer helpers also participate in community activities organized by their partner organizations, from community meals to special events such as the «Blitz de récupération de matériel de consommation à la traîne».

Promoting the Peer-Based Intervention Approach

The GIAP’s peer helpers are experts in the peer-based intervention approach. They are also experts on the street environment and the realities at-risk youth. In this capacity, they are often called upon to share their experiences, knowledge and intervention approach with various groups. Through their significant presence at the GIAP’s partner organizations, peer helpers promote peer-based intervention among workers and management at these organizations. Working in tandem with different groups also provides the GIAP with the opportunity to promote peer-based intervention. Furthermore, since the beginning of the project in 1993, the GIAP has collaborated closely with university researchers and continues to do so. This has, as a result, contributed to the recognition of the peer-based intervention approach in the field of intervention work. The project’s originality and innovation continues to draw the interest of social science researchers. Please see our Tools and Docs section to learn more. Peer helpers also offer regular education sessions to demystify the realities faced by at-risk youth among professionals in health care and social work or among students who are likely to work with marginalized populations in their chosen fields. Reducing prejudice held by professionals with regards to at-risk youth is an effective way to facilitate their access to necessary services. This tactic is integral to the comprehensive approach to health that prevails at the GIAP.

Promoting Collective Empowerment and Social Change

At the GIAP, we recognize that health takes on a social dimension; it must be understood and defined with regards to the self, one’s relationships with others and one’s place in society. The fight against social exclusion and for the recognition of marginalized persons as full citizens is as a result, perfectly consistent with the GIAP’s work in improving the health of at-risk youths. Social issues such as citizenship, cohabitation, the sharing of public space, and respect for fundamental rights must be addressed in a collective manner.  The organization of the Festival d’Expression de la Rue is a good example of collective empowerment. Furthermore, the quality of an individual’s physical and social environment largely influences their ability to take charge of their health. For example, we cannot expect injection drug users to use sterile syringes to reduce their risks of contracting STBBIs if they aren’t available in their area, nor can we expect a youth experiencing major psychological distress to ask for help if there is no support network available to them. Therefore, through their presence in the field, by facilitating access to sterile injection equipment in isolated networks and by organizing workshops to reduce prejudice surrounding youth in difficulty, the GIAP’s peer helpers contribute to making Montreal’s downtown more amenable to healthier lifestyles, particularly with regards to the prevention of STBBIs.

Scroll Up

Afin de remplir notre mandat de prévention de la transmission du VIH, du VHC et des autres ITSS et de réduction des méfaits liés à la consommation de drogues et au mode de vie de la rue, nous devons sans cesse actualiser les activités offertes par le GIAP. En effet, les pairs-aidants ne travaillent pas en vase clos; au contraire leur présence régulière au sein des organismes partenaires et les échanges qu’ils ont, autant avec les jeunes qu’avec les intervenants, leur permette d’être en phase avec le milieu. Cette présence accrue sur le terrain nous assure aussi que le travail effectué en équipe par les pairs-aidants retourne par la suite vers les organismes partenaires, qui non seulement en bénéficient, mais peuvent aussi l’alimenter à leur tour!

Nous présentons ici les principaux pôles autour desquels s’articulent les actions du GIAP. Néanmoins, ces actions ne sont pas figées, elles se transforment au fil du temps, suivant l’évolution du milieu, l’émergence de nouvelles tendances et le développement de nouvelles connaissances en matière de prévention, de réduction des méfaits ou encore de cohabitation sociale.

Les interventions individuelles ou en petits groupes

Dans le cadre de leur travail au sein des ressources partenaires, les pairs-aidants vont à la rencontre des jeunes, avec lesquels ils travaillent à bâtir des liens de confiance. Les pairs-aidants visent le développement d’un souci de soi chez les jeunes auprès de qui ils interviennent et une reprise en charge de leur santé globale. Pour ce faire, ils offrent de l’écoute active et du soutien dans les démarches entreprises par les jeunes. Les sujets les plus abordés lors des interventions individuelles concernent la réduction des risques, la gestion de la consommation, les relations interpersonnelles, la sexualité, la gestion des émotions et l’autonomie. L’éventail des sujets abordés par les jeunes démontre bien l’approche alternative globale d’intervention qui caractérise l’action des pairs-aidants. Les pairs-aidants peuvent aussi référer les jeunes et les accompagner au besoin vers d’autres services. Les pairs-aidants profitent des moments d’échanges informels pour donner de l’information relative à la prévention des ITSS et pour promouvoir un message de santé à travers la réduction des méfaits. Les interventions individuelles déployées par les pairs-aidants peuvent prendre appui sur les nombreux outils de prévention originaux et alternatifs qu’ils développent en équipe.

Les interventions de groupe

Les pairs-aidants interviennent aussi de façon collective, suivant des objectifs divers allant de la prévention des ITSS à la démystification du milieu de la rue, en passant par le développement de compétences organisationnelles chez les jeunes rencontrés. L’intervention collective prend le plus souvent appui sur des activités de groupe à caractère ludique ou des ateliers de sensibilisation. Que ce soit au sein des ressources partenaires, dans le milieu scolaire post secondaire ou encore dans le cadre du Festival d’Expression de la Rue, diverses activités sont animées par les pairs-aidants afin de rencontrer ces objectifs.

Les pairs-aidants du GIAP seront heureux d’aller vous rencontrer et animer ces activités chez vous. Ces activités seront animées gracieusement à l’intention des jeunes en situation de très grande précarité. Selon le public rejoint, des tarifs pourraient s’appliquer. Si vous êtes intéressés à nous recevoir, allez visiter nos offres de services sous l’onglet Animations.

Quizz ITSS ou Twister de la prévention

twister-784x800

 

Cette activité, développée plus particulièrement à l’intention des jeunes, peut s’adresser à n’importe quel public intéressé à en apprendre davantage sur les infections transmises sexuellement ou par le sang (ITSS). Le quizz vise à augmenter chez les participants les connaissances des diverses ITSS, leurs modes de transmission et les moyens de s’en protéger. L’activité donne lieu à des prises de conscience relatives aux prises de risque. Le quizz peut être animé en tant que tel, ou en s’appuyant sur le jeu Twister, pour plus de dynamisme.

 

 

Parcours-Party

Parcours Party

 

Cette activité s’adresse aux jeunes et recréant l’ambiance d’une soirée de party. L’activité permet aux participants d’acquérir des connaissances sur les drogues, à partir de leurs propres habitudes de consommation. Pour ce faire, des fausses drogues sont disposées sur une table et les participants se font questionner sur chacune d’entre elles quant aux effets, aux mélanges à éviter, à la durée de l’effet, etc. L’activité inclut aussi un quizz sur les différents types de condoms disponibles, leurs propriétés et leur bon usage. Cela permet aux participants d’être sensibilisés au sécurisexe.

 

 

L’atelier de création de macarons

Atelier de macarons

 

Cet atelier s’adresse aux jeunes en situation de précarité. L’objectif est d’acquérir de nouvelles habiletés tout en développant leur créativité, en confectionnant un ou plusieurs macarons de leur choix. L’activité peut être adaptée en fonction d’une thématique particulière, qu’il s’agisse de lutte à l’homophobie ou au racisme ou la prévention des toxicomanies. L’activité offre en outre un contexte propice pour créer des contacts et aborder des sujets délicats, tels quel la sexualité et la prévention des ITSS.

 

 

Les ateliers de cuisine

Atelier de cuisineCet atelier s’adresse aux jeunes en situation de précarité. L’objectif de l’atelier est d’augmenter les habiletés des jeunes à cuisiner, de façon à augmenter leur autonomie et leur capacité à prendre soin d’eux-mêmes. Sur la base de denrées distribuées par les banques alimentaires, les pairs-aidants concoctent avec les participants un menu simple, santé et à petit prix, qui pourra facilement être reproduit par la suite. L’atelier permet aussi d’aborder l’importance de l’hygiène en cuisine. Le repas collectif après l’atelier permet aux jeunes d’échanger sur les apprentissages réalisés et d’aborder divers sujets reliés à la santé. Cet atelier est d’une durée de 3,5h avec les participants. Le groupe pour l’atelier doit être composé d’un maximum de 8 jeunes. Pour recevoir l’atelier dans votre ressource, vous devez disposer d’une cuisine assez grande pour accueillir 10 personnes, d’un minimum d’équipement et d’instruments de cuisine et avoir accès à des dons d’une banque alimentaire.

L’atelier SEXEprimer

presentation

Cet atelier s’adresse aux jeunes en situation de grande précarité. L’atelier, qui prend la forme d’une discussion, permet d’aborder la sexualité et la prévention des ITSS sous l’angle du respect de soi et de son/ses partenaire(s). L’atelier est conçu pour un petit groupe de 5 ou 6 jeunes tout au plus. Quelques grandes questions sont lancées par les pairs-aidants pour stimuler une discussion (ex : C’est quoi pour vous le respect dans la sexualité? Est-ce qu’il y a des choses qui pour vous ne se disent pas par rapport au sexe?). Le contenu de l’atelier peut donc varier d’ungroupe à l’autre, selon les préoccupations de chacun. L’atelier est d’une durée moyenne de 75 minutes, selon le groupe.

 

Formation « Démystification des réalités des jeunes de la rue »

Cette formation s’adresse aux personnes et professionnels appelés à intervenir auprès de jeunes en situation de grande précarité, notamment les professionnels de la santé, les policiers, pompiers, etc. À partir des expériences des pairs-aidants, la présentation, très interactive, aborde les facteurs de risques et les réalités dans lesquelles se trouvent les jeunes de la rue ou en situation de grande précarité, dans une optique de démystification. La présentation aide les participants à mieux comprendre les problématiques reliées à la rue de façon a mieux intervenir auprès des jeunes.


Formation « Les drogues et la rue: une vision alternative en réduction des méfaits »

Cette formation s’adresse aux intervenants et professionnels intervenant auprès de personnes qui consomme des drogues et qui sont issues du milieu de la rue. À partir du savoir expérientiel des pairs-aidants, cette formation permet aux participants de se familiariser davantage avec les tendances actuelles de consommation de substance phychoactives, au mode de vie de la rue et de l’approche de réduction des méfaits. Plus précisément, cette formation aborde les principales substances en vogue à Montréal, les impacts de la consommation sur les comportements, les mélanges de drogues et médicaments et risques associés, le sevrage et la prévention de la rechute. D’une durée de 2h, cette formation est interactive et permet la discussion entre les participants.

L’implication communautaire

L’implication communautaire constitue un autre champ d’action du GIAP. Afin de prendre part activement à la compréhension de l’évolution du milieu de la rue et à la détermination des moyens les plus adaptés pour répondre aux besoins du milieu, le GIAP est impliqué dans plusieurs activités et concertations communautaires. L’équipe du GIAP est représenté à la Table de concertation Jeunesse-Itinérance, qui regroupe des organismes impliqués auprès des jeunes en situation de grande précarité; il est aussi présent à la Table de concertation du Faubourg Saint-Laurent, qui regroupe divers acteurs afin de favoriser la communication et les échanges autour d’ enjeux de sécurité du quartier; le GIAP est aussi mobilisé pour la recherche de solutions alternatives à la judiciarisation des personnes itinérantes et prend activement part aux activités de l’Opération Droits Devants; l’équipe s’implique aussi à la Nuit des sans-abri de Montréal afin de sensibiliser le grand public aux réalités de l’itinérance. Dans le cadre du Festival d’Expression de la Rue, le GIAP organise annuellement une discussion citoyenne, qui rassemble divers acteurs du centre-ville autour du thème de la cohabitation sociale. Les pairs-aidants du GIAP s’impliquent par ailleurs au sein d’activités communautaires organisées par les ressources partenaires, qu’il s’agisse de repas communautaires ou d’activités spéciales telles que les blitz de récupération de matériel de consommation à la traîne.

La diffusion de l’approche d’intervention par les pairs

Les pairs-aidants du GIAP sont des experts de l’approche d’intervention par les pairs. Ils sont aussi experts du milieu de la rue et des réalités qui peuvent être vécues par les jeunes en situation de grande précarité. À ce titre, ils sont régulièrement interpellés pour partager leurs expériences, leurs savoirs, leur approche d’intervention, et ce auprès de divers publics. Par leur importante présence au sein des ressources partenaires du GIAP, les pairs-aidants font la promotion de l’intervention par les pairs auprès des intervenants et des directions des organismes. L’implication dans différences instances de concertation offre une autre occasion au GIAP de promouvoir l’intervention par les pairs. Aussi, depuis les origines du projet en 1993, le GIAP a toujours collaboré étroitement avec le milieu de la recherche universitaire et le fait encore régulièrement. Cela a d’ailleurs fortement contribué à la reconnaissance de l’approche d’intervention par les pairs dans le milieu de l’intervention. L’originalité et l’innovation dont fait preuve le projet ne cesse de susciter l’intérêt des chercheurs en sciences sociales; nous vous invitons à consulter la section Outils et Docs pour en apprendre d’avantages. Les pairs-aidants animent aussi régulièrement des formations afin de démystifier la réalité des jeunes en situation de grande précarité auprès de professionnels de la santé et des services sociaux, ou encore auprès d’étudiants susceptibles d’intervenir auprès de populations marginalisées de par leurs domaines d’études. Diminuer les préjugés des professionnels à l’endroit des jeunes en situation de précarité constitue un moyen efficace de faciliter l’accès aux services dont ils ont besoin; cela s’inscrit aussi bien dans l’approche globale de la santé qui prévaut au GIAP.

La promotion de l’empowerment collectif et du changement social

Au GIAP, nous reconnaissons la dimension sociale de la santé; la santé doit donc être comprise et définie par rapport à soi-même, à ses relations avec les autres et à la place occupée dans la société. La lutte contre l’exclusion sociale et pour la reconnaissance des personnes marginalisées comme citoyens à part entière s’intègre donc parfaitement dans le travail d’amélioration de la santé des jeunes en situation de précarité dans lequel est impliqué le GIAP. Ces enjeux sociaux de citoyenneté, de cohabitation, de partage de l’espace public et du respect des droits fondamentaux doivent être adressés de façon collective. L’organisation du Festival d’Expression de la Rue est un bel exemple d’une démarche d’empowerment collectif. Aussi, la qualité de l’’environnement physique et social détermine grandement la capacité des individus à prendre en charge leur propre santé. En effet, on ne peut s’attendre à ce qu’un consommateur utilise du matériel d’injection stérile pour réduire ses risques d’être infecté par une ITSS si ce matériel stérile n’est pas disponible à proximité de son milieu de vie. On ne peut pas non plus s’attendre à ce qu’un jeune en pleine détresse psychologique appelle à l’aide s’il n’a aucun réseau de support. Ainsi, par leur présence sur le terrain, en facilitant l’accès au matériel stérile de consommation dans certains milieux désaffiliés, en animant des conférences afin de diminuer les préjugés entourant les jeunes en difficulté, les pairs-aidants du GIAP contribuent à rendre les milieux du centre-ville plus propice à la prise en charge de la santé et notamment à la prévention des ITSS.

Scroll Up